RSS

It is crazy to think that I am only 22 years old yet I am still new to all of these technologies we are exploring. But I am so happy I am learning because whether I am a teacher(undergrad degree) or a librarian, or any career for that matter these tools can be incredibly useful!

It seems to me that RSS feeds are fairly common and I come upon them often without realizing it. I see them on school websites, facebook, etc.. and they are very helpful. I can see how if you follow several blogs or wikis it would be time consuming to have to check them daily to see if they have been updated. With the RSS feed individuals are alerted when the blog or wiki has been updated. It saves time by having the RSS do the work for you! I feel like setting up a library blog open for students, parents, teachers and administration may be beneficial for getting news out about events that may be scheduled, or updates simply about the library and the collection. The chance of the school community checking the blog often and consistently is probably slim however if the community subscribed to the feed it may be easier to get the information out because the community will be told when to check.

I think that RSS is here to stay, it is a useful tool for personal and professional use that if utilized can make all the difference. For me with web 2.0 technologies the terminology and the acronyms are intimidating but once explained a person can realize how simple, helpful, and worthwhile they can be.

7 thoughts on “RSS

  1. I’m not sure age matters any more. I feel as though new technologies are being introduced everyday that I need to learn about. You think you’re on top of it and all of a sudden, someone mentions a tool or resource that is new and innovative and there goes your evening! You’re hooked on a new shiny thing! The interesting part is that I learn and keep up to date using the RSS feeds – they are really invaluable for professional development…along with Twitter.

  2. I thought the same way you did about some of the new technologies. I have never used Symbaloo or Animoto before. I use blogs, Twitter and Facebook for more personal and professional reason, but it’s been so helpful learning how we can use these technologies in classes and school libraries.

  3. Victoria~

    I agree that when you think of a traditional school library website, you don’t imagine a place you (or other members of the community) would want or need to check back to often. But that’s really our challenge isn’t it? To make a library and library website that people can’t imagine not using as much as possible because it is THE source of the best information and ideas? I mean, can you imagine if people came to your library webpage everyday for the latest in most know information instead of going to say, AOL, Yahoo, or CNN? My librarian senses are tingling just thinking about it :-).

    RSS feeds are definitely one way we can start making our websites a source of dependable, up to date knowledge for our students and the rest of the community.

  4. I think it would be a great idea for you to set up a blog for your school but try to think of ways it could impact the curriculum rather than just “push out” routine announcements; a simple listserv could fulfill that task. A principal, teacher or librarian could use a blog to share hwe ideas and philosophies on education, what her vision is for the school/library, what trends are impacting the school/library, what and why certain programs are being introduced –letting the parents know who you are and your passion to teach. A blog is your voice, use it to communicate an important message, share your reflections, engage your readers…but don’t post announcements.

  5. Hi Victoria! Pam pointed out on my blog that you and I appear to be connected at a neuro level regarding the use of blogging and RSS feeds, lol.

    Here is a snippet from a blog entry of mine that I thought was interesting – check it out and we can brainstorm this blog concept for the team project we are working on!

    Here is a link to Educause Guide to Blogging that has a lot of interesting information – http://www.educause.edu/eli/GuideToBlogging

    “Blogs provide a forum for discussion that goes beyond coursework to include culture, politics, and other areas of personal exploration. Students often learn as much from each other as from instructors or textbooks, and blogs offer another mechanism for peer-to-peer knowledge sharing and acquisition.”

    I would say that blogging (conducted effectively) meets quite a few of the AASL standards involving technology and the pursuit of personal and aesthetic growth –

Leave a Reply

